Skip to main content


Board members at 2013 graduation ceremonyAs a nonprofit corporation, ISM is governed by a Board of Trustees committed to promoting and upholding the mission and vision of the school. The Board exercises final authority on all school matters including approving all major educational and operational policies, approving all major contracts, adopting the school's annual budget, overseeing ISM's fiscal and legal affairs, hiring and evaluating the Director, and ensuring the long-term viability of the school.


Current Trustees

Cristofer Cabanillas, Chair [parent] ~ CFP®, Monterey Private Wealth, Inc.

Patricia Adura-Miranda, Vice Chair ~ Attorney, Miranda, Magden & Miranda, LLP

Lauren Cohen, Secretary ~ Executive Director, Monterey County Youth Museum

Chris Steinbruner, Treasurer, CPA [parent] ~ Partner, Steinbruner Hill

Kera Abraham Panni [parent] ~ Conservation & Science Outreach Manager, Monterey Bay Aquarium

John Bailey, J.D. [parent] ~ Attorney, Alternative Dispute Resolution, APC

Allison Barrientos, CPA ~ CFP®, Integris Wealth Management, LLC

Kevin Brookhouser ~ English, Humanities, and Technology Instructor, York School

Ronnie Higgs, Ph.D. ~ Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Services, CSU Monterey Bay

Roberta Infelise, Ed.D. ~ Retired US and International School Principal

Valerie Josephson, M.D. [parent] ~ Pediatrician, Monterey Peninsula Pediatric Medical Group

Kate Mitchell Mehle ~ Director of Development, Big Sur Land Trust

Kelly Sorenson [parent] ~ Executive Director, Ventana Wildlife Society


Past Board Members

Founding Board Members

Lisa deMondesir

Linda Dormody

Margaret Elwanger

Gordon Freedman

Keith Krone

Robert Landau

Dorothy Lank

Fred Miller

Kathryn Poling

Joanne Storkan

Ingrid Tower


Other Past Board Members

Paul Gaucher

Justine Geisler

Prashant Gupta

Chris Hasegawa

Chrissie Jahn

Kaustubh Khandelwal

Rob Lee

Sean Madden

Grant Miles

Cary Neiman

Marian Penn

Sunder Ramaswamy

Christine Reed

Alastair Rodd

Tim Ruediger

John Tilley

Mike Whilden

Plasha Fielding Will

Steve Young






Last updated February 13, 2017 by director