Skip to main content


As a nonprofit corporation, ISM is governed by a Board of Trustees committed to promoting and upholding the mission and vision of the school. The Board exercises final authority on all school matters including approving all major educational and operational policies, approving all major contracts, adopting the school's annual budget, overseeing ISM's fiscal and legal affairs, hiring and evaluating the Director, and ensuring the long-term viability of the school.

Current Trustees

Cristofer Cabanillas, Chair [parent] ~ CFP®, Monterey Private Wealth, Inc.

Patricia Adura-Miranda, Vice Chair ~ Attorney, Miranda, Magden & Miranda, LLP

Lauren Cohen, Secretary ~ Executive Director, Monterey County Youth Museum

Kera Abraham Panni [parent] ~ Conservation & Science Outreach Manager, Monterey Bay Aquarium

John Bailey, J.D. [parent] ~ Attorney, Alternative Dispute Resolution, APC

Allison Barrientos, CPA ~ CFP®, Integris Wealth Management, LLC

Lynn Bentaleb ~ Executive Director, Nancy Buck Ransom Foundation

Kevin Brookhouser ~ English, Humanities, and Technology Instructor, York School

Ronnie Higgs, Ph.D. ~ Vice President of Student Affairs and Enrollment Services, CSU Monterey Bay

Roberta Infelise, Ed.D. ~ Retired US and International School Principal

Valerie Josephson, M.D. [parent] ~ Pediatrician, Monterey Peninsula Pediatric Medical Group

Kate Mitchell Mehle ~ Director of Development, Big Sur Land Trust


Founding Board Members

Other Past Board Members

Lisa deMondesir

Paul Gaucher

Linda Dormody

Justine Geisler

Margaret Elwanger

Prashant Gupta

Gordon Freedman

Chris Hasegawa

Keith Krone

Kaustubh Khandelwal

Robert Landau

Rob Lee

Dorothy Lank

Sean Madden

Fred Miller

Grant Miles

Kathryn Poling

Cary Neiman

Joanne Storkan

Marian Penn

Ingrid Tower

Sunder Ramaswamy


Christine Reed


Alastair Rodd


Tim Ruediger


Chrissie Sorenson (Jahn)


Kelly Sorenson


Chris Steinbruner


John Tilley


Mike Whilden


Plasha Fielding Will

  Steve Young